I haven’t posted ANYTHING here in a long time!  I want to explain my absence and let you know when things will hopefully be up and rolling.

My dear sweet husband passed away from bladder cancer on December 2nd.  For the months prior to his passing, I was caregiving round the clock, but was still able to get some art in.  But after about the beginning of November, art took a seat in the way back as Paul needed me at his side every moment.  His last days were difficult but he passed in great peace with only his family around him.  God, I miss him!

Three days after Paul passed, Paris, TX was HIT with an ICE STORM!  Great!  Great timing!  The only consolation I found in THAT was that Paul had already gone.  It would have been horrible if he had still been here.  We used a lot of electricity for his care… oxygen, air bed, etc…  And another silver lining to the ice cloud was that my home was declared uninhabitable by my insurance agent due to some electrical things and I was blessed to spend approximately 13 days in a hotel.  It was just a perfect amount of time away from home and I was in a comfortable fog that entire time.

Coming home has been like coming home to a war torn neighborhood.  It is a mess.  And my paints are all ruined!  But God will provide and soon, for your benefit AND MINE, I will be painting again.  I hope that most of the mess and replacement of paints can be accomplished by the end of January and I can start churning out some paintings as I muddle through a grief process.

I am reading “A Grief Observed” by C.S. Lewis, that was given to me by a very special friend.  It is the story of how he processed the death of his beloved wife, who also died of cancer.  It is a comfort to read that someone who I admire so very much for their great faith, struggled so hard to come to grips with where God was in the death of his wife.  I recommend it to anyone going through a great loss.

I want to post the completed bird that I was working on at my last post of art.  It is finished now but I still have to add the words.  It was for sale and someone saw that and grabbed it!  But it will be available as a print soon.

I ask for your prayers for my family.  I thank you for reading my blog and supporting me in my artistic endeavors.  Paul is not lost.  Only gone on ahead.  And we will see each other again.

Blessings,

Susan

Pretty Blue